Hello Zsolt,
Thank you for checkin this!
You are always welcome!
If an older version of our product is installed already on a customer's PC, then the install location should be taken over, so the original install location should be used.
This is usually achieved via the
"Use original installation path when upgrading" option, but this is not enabled for side by side installation for obvious reasons, as you need different installation folders to avoid overwriting files.

- Screenshot_127.png (7.71 KiB) Viewed 10996 times
Do you offer the customers the possibility to install side by side? From what I've seen in the
"Dialogs" page, you do not seem to have the UpgradeDlg dialog added which is the one that allows the user to choose whether they want to upgrade the older version or to install side by side.
If we want to preserve the install path during an upgrade, we can achieve it similarly with how our support works when the "Use original installation path when upgrading" option is checked.
That is, to create a search that retrieves the install directory from the registries and then sets the current APPDIR to that.
This seems to be the registry entry that stores APPDIR in your case:

- Screenshot_128.png (52.83 KiB) Viewed 10996 times
By the way, I still think there might be an issue in Advanced Installer: so far our customers sometimes selected a different install location than Program Files, but always on their C drive -> on product upgrade the folder they have selected was used by the installer.
For me it seems the issue is happening only if the disk drive is not the same. Can it be the case?
This can be the case, although it sounds not likely.
Are you able to reproduce this on your end as well? I have tried to do so in a sample but I wasn't able to reproduce it.
Best regards,
Catalin
FOLLOW US
Get the latest news in Application Packaging